Whoever watches from the outside, on the other side of the bars, will find precisely that: a building featuring medieval shapes which was definitely completed on August 17, 1897. It was then that the future residence of don Francisco Piria, the founder of the beautiful City of Piriápolis was inaugurated.
The Peak Years
Designed by architect Monzani, Piria’s castle was one of the particular residences owned by the founder of the first bathing resort in the country: Piriápolis.
This beautiful residence and distinguished guesthouse copied its architectural style from some Italian villages from the late XIX century. In addition to the old palm trees, the garden shelters a brass statue representing the Roman deity Mercury, an exact replica of the figure found in the Ercolano excavations (Italy).
The main building of the castle has two stories and a basement, which are not open for visitors. On the second floor, instead, the Florentine balconies offer a wonderful panoramic view of the various quadrants of the city, as well as a unique sight of the Sugar Loaf Mountain and the typical Uruguayan countryside.
Inside the castle, visitors will find the typical furniture of those days synthesized in period items, tools, weapons and art works brought directly from Europe.
Ever since its foundation, the old castle has been a presidential residence and a place for cultural gatherings and more important events that took place in the City of Piriápolis. Today, without losing the magic and the mystics of those years, it works as a local museum and is managed by the Maldonado City Council.
Thousands of visitors come along to see what is hidden behind its main gate, especially in the summertime.
ExtrasPrint this outing
Useful DataBear in mind
The local Tourist Office at the City of Piriápolis organizes guided tours for those who do not have a vehicle and wish to visit this place. The office is located at the Argentinos Promenade, right next to the Argentino Hotel.